Chuck Sambuchino, Author of Red Dog-Blue Dog

Chuck Sambuchino, Author of Red Dog-Blue Dog

Finally a book for dog owners coping with politically inclined pooches!

Finally a book for dog owners coping with politically inclined pooches!


I want to thank those who helped out on the occasion of my 2nd Annual On-Line Birthday Wish Fund for Laura Pople of Seer Farms held last Sunday. I recently learned that Laura has been appointed to serve on a new long term Hurricane Sandy Recovery Committee. I think this was a great choice as Laura knows how to get things done for both humans and their Companion Animals. If you wish to contribute to Seer Farms, here is their link. http://www.seerfarms.org/donate.php

Also, I extend a huge thanks to Lynne Fowler and her terrific group Oodles of Doodles Rescue Collective. They have placed several dogs already in the new year, including mine, an adorable little Shih Poo named Teddy that I was supposed to foster but instead he captured our hearts and now calls this place his home. My interview with Oodles and my own “Foster Failure” experience will be presented shortly. Although I have failed, I do hope to return to fostering in the spring!

In honor of the Inauguration of our President, I present a post that was supposed to run in late October through election day. Due to certain catastrophic weather events, it remained stored on my computer. Today, I thought it would be fun to present Chuck Sambuchino and his book on canine politics. The following is a brief, but fun interview with the author:

Please tell us a little about your background in the writing industry. I work for Writer’s Digest Books in Cincinnati. I edit the GUIDE TO LITERARY AGENTS http://www.guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog as well as the CHILDREN’S WRITER’S & ILLUSTRATOR’S MARKET. I love working for WD and helping people get published. I love writing about the craft and business of writing. And I like writing my own humor books, too. I eat, sleep and breathe this stuff, and have for years. If people want to know more about, simple things to do is to find me on Twitter (@chucksambuchino), befriend me on Facebook, or check out my website http://www.chucksambuchino.com

Why do you enjoy writing in the Humor genre? Do you find it a challenge keeping up with writing about the Agenting Industry? I’ve always been a sarcastic guy — I wasn’t class clown, but I was runner up. (But I’m not bitter! No way!) Writing humor books gives me an outlet to make people laugh besides my wife. Writing humor is also nice because humor books are often bought as gifts. It’s interesting to see how your writing is given as a gift all over the country. Everyone loves to laugh.

Writing about the agenting business is tough because it’s always in flux. Agents retire; new ones pop up. Nowadays, with the rise of e-publishing and the slow evolution of the role of agents, I need to know what’s going on more than ever.

What inspired Red Dog, Blue Dog? My wonderful and flabby dog, Graham. Since I got him five years ago, I’ve become known as “that dog guy” by people at work because I talk about him too much. I also talk about politics too much. Mixing the two was my wife’s idea. That’s how RED DOG / BLUE DOG http://www.reddog-bluedog.com was born.

Tell us about your own experience as a dog “owner.” Graham is the best. He does absolutely nothing but beg for treats and we love him anyway. I can’t believe that I fought my wife on getting a dog for years. His addition to the home has been so wonderful for us in the past five years. He has also put quite a dent in our savings due to his penchant of nonstop eating…

Many former US Presidents knew that dogs were a powerful resource when attracting good press and Good Will. Do you think President Obama is using his full “Bo-tential?” No. Lots of people are dog owners, and Bo is ripe for being used as a zinger or punchline in a debate.

Do you think a dog can ever be President and if so, what qualities would make them a good leader of our nation? You would need a dog who understands the canine middle class. This dog would have to find a way to get more parks for running and bathroom time. This dog would have to promise to lower taxes on milkbones. This dog would have to explain that we should be rewarding Americans who give more belly rubs, not outsourcing those belly rubs to China. I could go on and on about this…

Thank you Chuck. I apologize for the delay in posting this, but I’ve learned to “roll-over” with the punches and go with the storm surge! Best of luck to you with all your writing ventures and thank you for the help you provide for so many authors.

