"Gbear" Goes home

“Gbear” Goes home

We are happy to hear the news that our little foster pup Gingerbread is resting happily with her new human and answers to Ginger in honor of a carbo-free name and her healthy new start in the new year! I look forward to seeing her when her little “bear cub” face gets fuzzy again. She was so matted when she was found; they had to shave her muzzle.

I am heartened and impressed by the way these foster dogs all come to find new starts in happy and safe homes. It always strikes me that much like their human counter parts, some puppies are born wanted even before they enter the world. Some are fortunate and live a happy life with their original owners, some start out okay, but life and circumstances change and they fall upon an uncertain future. Some are abused outright, others neglected. Some wander form home and no one bothers to look for them, yet others are deliberately dumped on highways, in parks or outside of overcrowded shelters.

Each homeless dog has a unique and moving story; unfortunately, those trying to help them can never truly know what they have gone through. Those who rescue just do their best to heal the physical and emotional “baggage” they inherit.

When I brought Ginger to her new home, I managed to keep it together. My “Foster Coach” who walked me through my first delivery even mentioned how calm and cool I was for a newbie. I was, until I got into my car and fell apart for a moment.

Because of personal reasons and travel, I figured I would give fostering a rest until the springtime. But as fate would have it, another photo of an owner surrendered dog caught my eye and my heart just jumped a beat. With a quick “PM” on Facebook, I was back in the running. As I write, I am hoping to welcome a lovely three-year old terrier mix into my home for my second fostering experience. I will share this in my next post.

Coincidentally, a friend on Facebook had just completed her first fostering experience. I asked Pat Needham, an Animal Advocate from Kentucky, to share her experience, too.

“I work with a rescue group in Morehead (Rowan County), Kentucky. Their name is S.T.A.R., Saving the Animals of Rowan. I mainly do fundraising. Recently we had several small dogs rescued from a puppy mill. When it was posted that the little dogs were cold in the kennel and fosters were needed, I couldn’t not foster. I had never fostered before. When Midnight, a black Chihuahua was brought to me she was very afraid and loved to be held. I had her for three weeks and she had just started coming out of her shell when she left for Pennsylvania. She was adopted by a family and I saw a picture of her with her family and it was so wonderful to see her just being a dog. She was pictured with another dog and lying on the man’s leg, just relaxing. It was one of the best things I did in 2012. To have a small part in seeing a dog that was scared become a happy being. I would and will foster again. Every rescue group is in need of fosters.”

Thank you Pat for sharing.

In the fostering process of Ginger, the experience literally brought me over to the other side of town where I “discovered” a neighborhood I did not know existed. After saying goodbye to my little friend, I was in need of a little drive time. I wandered through a hilly section of town where gracious homes stood on high points with beautiful views of the river and beyond. How could I live in a place for almost 17 years and not have ever known about these parts?

This spoke to me on many levels. In doing something new and a little “challenging” such as fostering a dog, my world expanded in different ways. What other new places, people or “things” are we capable of discovering, if we allow ourselves to wander off the beaten path once in a while?

Happy new vistas to you all.

