When it comes to dogs, we should all work nose to nose when it comes to their health and welfare (Dog Fest, Brick, NJ-10/6/12)

“The dog is quick to sniff, grunt, blow his breath – he inhales deeply and repeatedly; a questioning look comes into his eyes as his nose seeks to get information or solve a momentary mystery.”  Will Judy, Founder of National Dog Week, written in 1949

After my last post, I feel a need to write something positive. But before I move on, I just wanted to say that when you have a large platform, you have a large responsibility. Some say Kelly Ripa’s comments were taken out of context, or spoken carelessly off the cuff. But I think that when you fail to address the feelings of so many humans who are in emotional pain and you exhibit such blatant disregard for the lives of so many endangered dogs, you have abused your role and missed an opportunity to do some real good. I don’t have nearly as many followers or make the kind of money Kelly Ripa does, but if just one of my posts influences someone to make real change, I’ll consider myself a success. I hope something good can still come out of all of this. http://blog.aspca.org/content/truth-about-pit-bulls?utm_source=newsalertemail_101912&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=newsalert

Last night when I spoke to my mom she said, “So I read your post. I can tell you were mad. I found two typos.” Perhaps my mom is my biggest fan, and best editor, and that would be all I really need.

So…all this got me thinking of plans for next year’s National Dog Week. If plans go well, my biography of the man who established the occasion will be out and circulating and I will have a good working draft of my sequel to Something’s Lost and Must be Found in progress as well as other projects that are under review as we speak. With the help of my publisher, I hope to have a larger platform from which to work.

Now, about that pawsitivity…Just to recap, over the course of National Dog Week, our number of “Likes” on our Facebook Page doubled! Please keep referring others so we can be stronger next year. https://www.facebook.com/events/349723731783742/#!/pages/National-Dog-Week/218596591491974?fref=ts

As I mentioned previously, under the directive of Principal John Billen, the students and teachers of Midstreams Elementary School in Brick, NJ, collected a nice monetary donation for a local fostering group and they invited me to set up a table at their Fall Festival to collect linen and bedding items for a local shelter. I made a very nice delivery to our local shelter just yesterday.

And what about those Junior Auxiliary members of Brick American Legion Unit 348? Last week they donated $500.00 to Laura Pople at Seer Farms in Jackson, NJ, and they still have another donation at the ready for another group! Those girls made a successful campaign at the post’s Canteen selling colorful stars for a dollar apiece and asking the general American Legion membership and the local VFW Post for contributions. All came through with flying colors and I personally thank them all.

The cameras for the NDW Paws to Pose Project are returning to me now. Can’t wait to work with New Jersey-based Pet Photographer, Joseph Frazz, on presenting them. Next year, I would love to have a NDW representative in each state (or several). These reps would just make sure some kind of activity was planned in their state during National Dog Week.  It could be anything, a parade, party, dog food pantry drive, change collection, reading at a library or book shop. It’s a nice opportunity for school and church groups and many other organizations to get involved. I will post more about this soon. It is never too early to plan. Please contact me at pst39crd@aol.com if you would like to be included. No event or action is too small.

Let’s put National Dog Week back on a tight leash and be the enlightened ones to lead it back to the occasion it was meant to be, a time of fun, yes, but also a time to reflect on some important issues facing our dogs and the way they affect our lives.

Also…if you like what I am doing here, please visit my Crowd Funding Project and give me a paw. Thank you. We have a few weeks left. http://www.indiegogo.com/LisaBegin-Kruysman-Author

Blog Notes: We send our good friend, Bocker the Labradoodle, a big Get Well Wish! Our next post will present a light-hearted interview with author Chuck Sambuchino of Writer’s Digest Books, on his timely Pawlitical new book, Red Dog, Blue Dog. http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents

