Author and Dog Groomer, Jamie Wilsoncroft

On the “heels” of my last post, Grooming Conversation, it is only fitting that I present a guest post by  dog-loving fellow-author, Jamie Wilsoncroft, writer of romances and the groomer of dogs.

The theme of this year’s National Dog Week Campaign is “EVERY DOG A TEACHER,” which will focus on the lessons of the dog in art and literacy and beyond. My next post will discuss some key players in the 84th Observance of National Dog Week and some fun announcements surrounding  planned events. NDW is for everyone. If you are planning something, please let us know. Please LIKE our page on Facebook and deep posted for de-tails! https://www.facebook.com/index.php?lh=f7c6993ffb155975ce456c32a3fceee7&eu=HFUfYji-6ULlVEM_rnPM5w#!/pages/National-Dog-Week/218596591491974

This summer, I will also be posting about dog-centric authors and great books with canine-themes. If you are an author or avid reader of this subject matter, please contact me and maybe we can add it to the Blog Series.

Jamie Wilsoncroft is currently promoting her new summer romance Fat Chances. To read more, please visit  writemorepublications.com/ As you’ll see, life for Jamie isn’t all candle light and roses…sometimes she literally hits “bottom.”  I apologize to Jamie for some gentle editing. Some of my readers are young students and family members, so I took some liberties…I will give warning now, the “end” is definitely not for the squeamish. I hope Jamie’s story will encourage others to follow their passions.

I WILL NEVER QUIT MY DAY JOB!!

by Jamie Wilsoncroft

Hello!! My name is Jamie Wilsoncroft. I am a wife and mother of two children and 3 dogs. I am also a maid, dishwasher, cook, chauffer, referee, pooper scooper, mind reader, dog groomer and an author. I’m sure I’m forgetting a few others, but you’ll have to forgive me, I tend to lose my mind sometimes.

Okay, where was I?

Sometimes when I’m out and about, people would stop and ask me, “Where do you find time to write a book?” I would stand on my tippy-toes (because I’m only five foot tall) and look them straight in the eye and say “I honestly don’t know.” But they are fascinated when I tell them that a lot of my story ideas come to me while I’m grooming dogs.

Go figure!!

So that is why it’s safe to say that I will NEVER quit my day job. Not only would I be afraid that I would lose a lot of my story ideas, I would miss my puppies too. Over the years, I have grown attached to a lot of them and have considered them as my own.

Maybe the ideas come to me because I’ve been grooming for so long that I could do it with my eyes closed (not that I would ever do that-bahahaha) Or maybe because I am relaxed and at peace with myself while grooming. Of course, I can’t say that when it comes to all my puppies. Some of them like to test me from the moment the set foot on the grooming table. Those are the days that I want to crack open a bottle of wine. Thank God I don’t have too many of those days or I would have a serious problem.

Like most writers, my mind is always searching for the next great story to write. I don’t know about other authors, but once I started writing (which was about six years ago) it became an addiction. I actually have with-drawls and become miserable when I don’t write. And sometimes there just isn’t enough time in the day or I don’t have enough fingers to write all the stories that pop into my head. I could be thinking about one story and what I want to write and then BAM, another story altogether different will come forward.

Yeah, like the time I was grooming a little shih-tzu and the idea of a woman walking into a funeral home and smelling a eucalyptus plant, popped into my head. The rest of that day I kept picturing this woman mourning over the loss of her one true love. So that night I sat down and started typing and Ba-bam, the story Remembering Zane was born.

Being a dog lover all my life and a dog groomer for the last 17 years, you can almost bet that all my stories will have a dog or two in them, except for Remembering Zane. I know, I still feel ashamed over that one, but there are babies in it. I love babies too.

There are two things that you will always find in my stories….romance and dogs. Any kind of dogs, but Cocker Spaniels, Great Danes and Chihuahuas are my favorite. Of course I love many kinds of breeds. I wouldn’t be a groomer if I didn’t.

Before I close out, I will tell you one of my many experiences that I have had as a dog groomer. If there is one thing that I can say after seventeen years of grooming is that “I have NOT seen it all” Every once in a while something outrageous or gross will happen while grooming.

One day, a woman brought in a cute Jack Russell terrier. Her name was Bella. LOL You wouldn’t believe how many people have named their pets Bella from movie Twilight. LOL Anyways, back to my story. I clipped her nails, cleaned her ears then bathed her. While I was blowing drying her, I noticed something protruding out of her butt. After closely examining it, I came to the conclusion that it wasn’t her anal glands or poop. I didn’t know what the heck it was. It was white, weird and sticking straight out of her butt. *yuck* So when the owner came, I asked her if she noticed it before and she said, No. So, curious George me…I grabbed a paper towel and gently pulled the thing out of the dog’s butt. And guess what it was? A piece of rolled up paper towel that the dog had eaten the night before. YEP…I had just pulled out a (rhymes with gritty) piece of paper towel out of a dog’s butt. Gotta love my job!!!!

So..should I put that little story in one of my future romance stories? Hmmm…maybe someday.

