“Rambunctious, rumbustious, delinquent dogs become angelic when sitting.” Ian Dunbar, 1947

Five years ago today, the dogs of the nation, and their humans, lost a very good friend with the passing of Captain Arthur Haggerty, the “Grandfather of  American Dog Obedience” and staunch supporter of the National Dog Week Movement.  On this most patriotic of holidays, we can honor his memory with the fair and humane treatment of dogs (and all animals) everywhere.

Welcome Handsome Hardee, from Las Vegas, NV, our Dog of the Week on the National Dog Week Community Page.  This page will feature some of the special dogs that have been part of our Blog’s 111 posts! Go on over and LIKE us and watch for new updates! http://www.facebook.com/about/login/#!/pages/National-Dog-Week/218596591491974

SOMETHING’S LOST AND MUST BE FOUND climbed the chart and remains #9 Top Rated in Amazon’s Animal Care and Health Category.  Now with a seventh story that won an Honorable Mention in a Writer’s Digest Competition. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_33?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=somethings+lost+and+must+be+found&sprefix=somethings+lost+and+must+be+found

Patriotic Hardee is our NDW Dog of the Week!

It was a dark and stormy…morning.  Up in my writer’s loft, I blogged away while Hooper, my loyal dog, dozed peacefully on the couch.  Suddenly the silence was shattered; once again, that dastardly woodpecker drilled away at our house like a jack hammer. Hooper flew into action, barking and circling. “Let’s get him, Mom,” she growled, bravely heading for the door.  But the roar of thunder drove her back, shaking and trembling at my feet.  And thus, another day of distractions, courtesy of Mother Nature, had begun.

Some authors take their “mews” in the feline form (Twain, Hemingway).  But many I know look to a muse of a more canine-kind for their inspiration. It does seem that many writers work with a dog at their feet. Last August, I was contacted by blogger/writer Marshal Zeringue.  He asked if I would be interested in talking about Every Dog has its Week on his blog, Coffee with a Canine.  Hooper and I obliged and we were very happy when he again sought us out upon the release of Something’s Lost and Must be Found, a Short Story Collection inspired by this blog.

Many creative types get lost in their work.  It can be a solitary life; creative efforts usually require a quiet and reclusive environment.  A dog, cat, or other pet, reminds us that (gasp) life is going on around you.  We need to take a break, be aware of others, and take the time to focus and care about those who need us most.  A good pet can do all of that, asking so little in return. 

Enjoy your life, family, friends and freedom on this Fourth of July Weekend!

Please enjoy the following interview with blogger and writer, Marshal Zeringue:

Can you tell us a little about your background? I’m a former academic who now spends most of my time writing, re-writing, fine-tuning (over and over again) as-yet-unproduced screenplays as well as tending to a number of blogs. I was born and partly educated in New Orleans, went to graduate school at the University of Virginia, then stayed in Virginia to teach.  I’m now somewhat nomadic but find myself in south Louisiana more often than not.

We hear you write and moderate three blogs, what are they? The blog count is actually greater or smaller than three, depending on how you tally these things.  I’ll explain: Coffee with a Canine is a blog more or less independent of my oldest blog, Campaign for the American Reader. So one might count that as two blogs.  But CftAR is the hub for a network that includes The Page 69 Test, My Book, The Movie, The Page 99 Test, Writers Read, Lit Lists, Author Interviews, HEPPAS Books, and New Books.

I’ve actually got plans for a few more CftAR-related sites (and an idea for another canine/food-related blog) but I’m trying to resist.

As we’re all about dogs here, please tell us about Coffee with a Canine.  When and why did you start it?  Are all your subjects writers or in the arts? Two influences led to Coffee with a Canine, each independent of the other but both hit at about the same time.  One, I noticed that a great many of the authors who helped with content for CftAR posts mentioned their dogs in the bio on their websites.  At about the same time, I realized that the clear majority of my 10 or 12 closest friends had dogs.

It’s actually coincidental that so many of the blog guests are writers.  More on that below.

How do you find the people you interview? Many of the interviewees are authors with dogs.  This has, understandably, led many blog visitors to infer that CwaC is yet another of my lit related blogs.  But being a writer is not a prerequisite for an interview.  I’m actually interested in having dog-lovers from all walks of life on the blog.  So I troll around the blogs to see if interesting bloggers have dogs.  Also, I’m hoping to soon start visiting coffee shops and parks with my camera and recorder so that I can interview some dog-lovers in person.

What is the coffee connection? Mostly accidental. I wanted to build the Q&As around an event, but nothing too demanding or that required a lot of planning…or even leaving the house.  So I ask the interviewee to plan a “coffee-date”–even though any beverage will do.  I really do like the interviews that involve a visit to a cafe (New Orleanians as much as anyone like food and drink with their conversation); that’s one spur to the plan to get out there and do some in-person interviews at coffee-shops.

Thank you Marshal for taking time to share with us.  I don’t know how you manage three blogs, one is challenging enough!  I hope we get to see some of these taped events. We will definitely follow-up as this new idea brews.

