Welcome…Please read ABOUT.

“…What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight – it’s the size of the fight in the dog.”   Dwight D. Eisenhower

Thanks to Marshal Zeringue for this nice interview! http://coffeecanine.blogspot.com/2011/06/lisa-begin-kruysman-hooper.html

Styles, a New Jersey Rescue Success Story

I just want to “paws” here to thank my most recent contributors for some very well-read and received posts about some very important matters.  Thomas Cole and his talk about Shelter Revolution (6/1)  and of course “Willie Wonka,” and his words on the significance of Spay and Neuter (6/8)  and all those helping them with their efforts.  We will revisit these topics from different angles over the next few months.  I appreciate all your comments here, and for the hundreds of caring individuals who have shared this Blog’s Link on Facebook, it really does make a difference. 

Day after day we see people working so hard to find homes for adoptable pets but as Willie Wonka said recently, “We can not rescue our way out of this mess.”  So please continue to share information and links that support low-cost S/N clinics and programs, especially in areas of the nation that need it most.   I do hear from those who are discouraged by the sad state of affairs for many of our unhomed pets despite their best efforts or from those who have just about given up.  I hope these posts encourage you to hang in there and fight the good fight, one small step at a time.

In my own state of New Jersey, I’ve read about some positive changes in our displaced pet population. In a recent Letter-to-the-Editor of my local paper I found these comments made by Barbara Reichman encouraging.  Barbara is the NAIA Shelter Project Coordinator in Washington Township.  She states that in New Jersey “pets have benefited from more than 20 years of improvement.”  She goes on to say that, “fewer pets are being abandoned, more lost pets are being reunited with their owners, far more are being adopted and less than half the number of dogs that used to be euthanized are meeting that fate today.”  She also notes that this is significant as New Jersey continues to accept an “importation” of dogs into local shelters from other regions.  While some will say that even one animal put to death is unacceptable, it shows that in some areas we are making some positive progress for the good of our animals.

And I just want to take a moment to thank those who have purchased a download of my e-book in the Kindle Store on Amazon.  At the very least, publishing my short story collection, Something’s Lost and Must be Found  (see ABOUT for information) has been an incredible learning experience.  I feel so positive when it gets a Five-star review and people tell me how it affects them on a personal level.  I plan to add a seventh story soon, one that is just about finished. 

I really do hope you will take the time to read these stories, part of the proceeds will go to help some of the causes I write about here, but I can’t do that alone.  Every download has the potential to enlighten, and entertain and of course, you will also be helping every dog (and cat) to have its day. 

Do you know of a veterinarian or a special group of people who are making a difference by providing low-cost Spay and Neuter Programs in your area?  Has it made a difference in the quality of life for the pets in your part of the country?  If so, I would like to hear from you.  You can contact me at pst39crd@aol.com

Also, be sure to go on over and check out the new Facebook page for National Dog Week.  It’s in its infancy, but will grow in time, I am sure.  National Dog Week will be observed the Week of September 19th this year.  I will be updating on Brick Township’s plans for its 2nd Annual Dog Fest to be held September 18th. Here is the NDW Facebook link :  http://www.facebook.com/?sk=messages&tid=10150206250331386#!/pages/National-Dog-Week/218596591491974

