The sign says it all!

Welcome to my blog, established to promote the intelligent dialogue about the state of the dog in the states of the nation. To learn more about the National Dog Week Movement please read ABOUT.

“…Dogs have given us their absolute all. We are the center of their universe, we are the focus of their love and faith and trust. They serve us in return for scraps. It is without a doubt the best deal man has ever made.”  Roger Caras, American, 1928-2001.

The other day, I posted on my Facebook wall that it was International Pooper Scooper Month (I guess it’s a problem in all corners of the dog world) and that the last week of April is Scoop the Poop Week. A few friends wondered if I was serious and I provided a link to an Examiner article I had written last year on the subject.  One of the original tenets of National Dog Week was that dog owners be more responsible and considerate of the rights on non-dog owners, a concept that its founder, Captain William Lewis Judy, understood (even 83-years ago) helped to make the world a dog-friendlier place.

As it was just Earth Day, you can also think of it as a way to be kind to Mother Earth. I actually had someone say to me that squirrels, rabbits and deer freely make deposits on our lawns, so why should she pick up after her dogs? I explained that those animals have a vegetarian based diet, and that is very different from most dog-diets in this nation. I’ve also been told by my friends who live on the water that the rain will just wash it away into the creeks, bays and rivers, and nature will take care of it. They are obviously wrong.  So be a good citizen, be considerate of your neighbors, the health of other dogs (dog poop can transport worms and parasites) and honor the planet you inhabit.

The month of May is Go Fetch! Food Drive for Homeless Animals Month and its first two weeks bring us Be Kind to Animals and National Pet Week. If you go to http://www.examiner.com/pets-in-newark/lisa-begin-kruysman  you can read related articles on these topics. This past week, I found myself thinking about the goodness of some people as I read posts on the walls of many of my pet-loving friends. If I could blog for a decade, posting every day, I still could not credit everyone, but I do try to write about people who rarely get any notice for what they do for the animals. Many of them work behind the scenes, asking only that attention be directed toward their cause. Many reach into their own pockets to help when funds run out to save a pet from an overcrowded shelter, spay and neuter dogs and cats, or get animals transported to safe shelters where their lives just might be spared.

In May, I’ll be writing about Covers for Critters launched under Willie Wonka’s Project Pets and organized by Brenda Yohman Frick, Kathy Hart’s Mats4Mutts, catch up with Erika Friedman about her Kong project for shelter dogs and talk again about how Nikki Moustaki’s Pet Postcard Project is such a terrific and creative way to help shelters, among others.

But first, I would like to wish Second Acts and its founder Michael S. Brown, my new Facebook friend, a happy birthday. Founded in 2008 by Michael, Second Acts is a non-profit fundraising organization distributing 100% of all donations it receives to small volunteer and animal rescue groups throughout the nation that adopt a no-kill policy. Michael also just celebrated his birthday this month, and speaking of that, if you would like to use the occasion of  your birthday to make a difference for animals, you can go to the organization’s website to find out how http://www.secondactsfoundation.org. Please Like them on Facebook, too.  Congratulations and Happy Birthday Michael.

And on a final note for the month of April, I thank all of you who have supported me and my blog; by the end of March, we had celebrated 100 posts together. In May, I will be publishing a collection of short-tales with dog themes on Amazon, many inspired by the posts I have written on behalf of the National Dog Week Movement. With so many disturbing stories and wall postings out there in the world of social networking, sometimes people tune out and shut down. With my stories, I am trying to use a different approach to be thought-provoking, to inspire people to find some way to connect on an emotional level, and then be inspired to take a practical approach to help in their own way.

I will be calling on some of my friends to help me with this new venture and I am confident this will be a win-win situation for all. If all goes as planned, I hope to help some causes that are dear to my heart and “write” some wrongs, one short story at a time, but I will need the support of many.

Happy Pooper Scooper Week to all!

