Antique postcard art -- Greyhounds, circa 1915

Welcome to my Blog, a place for those with a “weekness” for dogs.  This post presents Nikki Moustaki of the Pet Postcard Project.  Nikki’s tireless work on behalf of homeless dogs is worth noting, and you can learn about the special way she helps shelter dogs in this post. 

I would also like to thank Renee Premaza, NJ Dog Trainer, for interviewing me this morning about my work on behalf of Will Judy’s National Dog Week and my book Every Dog has its Week.  It was so great to be able to talk about this deserving subject….My pre-taped segment with her will air on Thursday, October 14  from 10-10:30am on WNJC-1360 AM.  It will also be available in her radio archives at www.jerseydogtrainer.com

Long before the internet, cell phones, even rotary phones, Americans relied on a pencil, a pen (if they were lucky to have one), a one-cent stamp and a small rectangular piece of paper, to communicate all kinds of personal messages with friends and family. 

This tiny, but powerful, writing tool was called the Picture Postcard and during the early part of the Twentieth Century it was the way Americans communicated by the billions!  Industries and shops sprung up just to keep up with the public’s obsession with them.  American and foreign cities and towns, flowers, beach scenes, buildings, landmarks, birthdays, holidays, and yes, cats and dogs, all could be found gracing one side of these miniature works of art.  Picture postals were also a unique way for those without cameras to capture the exciting experience of foreign and domestic travel that was increasingly available to many. 

Before the backs of these cards were “divided,” senders of postcards were only allowed to write the intended recipient’s address, sometimes only using the street name, followed by “City.”  Somehow they got delivered, often three times a day, at one time in our postal history.

back view of framed antique postcard art

Lucky for us, so many postcards survived and are still available to a new generation of collectors.  I came upon my first antique postcards in a shop in Vermont over twenty years ago.  I began using them in my paintings and a business was born.  My work allows me to present images that are between fifty and one hundred years old.  I work with my own collection and the cards of others, and these pictures hang in homes and offices throughout the world. 

In the past year, my energy and attention has turned toward writing, and if you are a regular visitor to this Blog, you know it was set up to educate the public about the legacy of Captain Will Judy’s National Dog Week Movement and my book, Every Dog has its Week, that documents the history of the week from its inception in 1928.  Even Will Judy, Founder of National Dog Week, published his own set of cards called “Dog Sentiments,” featuring poems and writings about his favorite subject.

Landseer-Crumbs from the King's Table, antique postcard art

Speaking of dogs and postcards, in January of this year I happened upon something called the  Pet Postcard Project.  What a concept!  Started by Nikki Moustaki in Miami, this deserving effort converts postcards into food for shelter pets.  I wrote an Examiner piece about Nikki that can be viewed at www.examiner.com/pets-in-newark/lisa-begin-kruysman.

Because I believe that change comes about through “small” collective acts, I think Nikki’s program is genius!  To read more about Nikki’s work please see www.betterwords.typepad.com/petpostcardproject.  

